LibGuides: JSR Staff Professional Development: Alternative Certification

Important Papers

Pathways to Licensure overview from the NH DOE

Site-Based Licensing Plan Documents from the NH DOE (scroll down for required documents)

Competency Assessment Sheets from the NH DOE. These sheets detail the competencies for each endorsement area.

Beginning Plan Guide
IPDP Plan
Your plan to meet the competencies to be completed for both the beginning and end of plan.

Alternative Certification Overview

From our 2018-2023 Master Plan

"The Alternative Certification Process

The Alternative 4 & 5 certification process is designed for those educators who do not currently hold a valid New Hampshire certification. The New Hampshire State Board of Education recognizes that people may become qualified as educators through a variety of educational and life experiences. Therefore, multiple paths to becoming a certified educator in New Hampshire are available to any person employed in a teaching position in the state. Certification for both the Alternative 4 & 5 are the most common pathways and are completed through a variety of activities that depend on the specific certification educators are seeking. These certification plans are individual and intended to vary from educator to educator depending on the prior experience each brings to the process. Although this a detailed and thorough process intended to allow educators to attain a certification without being officially enrolled in a higher education or designated teacher-preparation program, the process can generally be summarized by reviewing the Alternative 4 & 5 responsibilities below. It is described in depth in the NH DOE Alternative 4 & 5 Handbook.

Also, see Appendix F for additional information."

APPENDIX F

ALTERNATIVE CERTIFICATION (4 & 5)

Alternative 4	The Alternative 4 is a certification process restricted to critical shortage areas, to certain vocational areas, and to business administrators. According to the NH DOE Alternative 4 & 5 Handbook: “The Alternative 4 route to certification has been established under the New Hampshire Code of Administrative Rules to address the critical shortage in areas that are identified on an annual basis. This route supports school districts in their need to hire competent and qualified candidates for those areas. This route provides the candidate the opportunity to earn certification while teaching. It is a 3-year process which leads to full certification status through completion of a series of activities, coursework, and other sources of Professional Growth, while employed as an educator.”
Alternative 5	Alternative 5 is a site-based certification plan option that allows an individual to attain certification in elementary and secondary teaching areas excluding vocational education and special education areas. The candidate must have a bachelor's degree and meet the NH DOE criteria. (See complete definitions below.) A superintendent may hire an individual who possesses a statement of eligibility (SoE) issued by the Bureau of Credentialing (BOC). The school district must appoint a mentor teacher to provide support for the candidate. According to the NH DOE Alternative 4 & 5 Handbook: “The Alternative 5 route to certification has been established under the New Hampshire Code of Administrative Rules to address content certifications. This route supports school districts in their need to hire competent and qualified candidates for content areas. This route provides candidates with content majors the opportunity to earn certification while teaching. It is a 2-year process which leads to full certification status through completion of a series of activities, coursework, and other sources of Professional Growth, while employed as an educator.”
Alternative 4 & 5 Candidate Responsibilities	Alternative 4 & 5 candidate will: Ensure they are able to produce a statement of eligibility for certification from the NHDOE BOC. Receive an appointed alternative certification mentor from the hiring agent. Complete an assessment of their strengths and Professional Growth needs with their mentor. Complete the Individualized Professional Growth Plan (IPGP). (This IPGP is not the same as the IPGP that educators write for your district.) Find appropriate “activities” to be listed on the plan for certification that will meet all “not met” competencies and appropriate evidence that will support the “met” competencies. These “activities” are decided on collectively with the mentor and meet the NHDOE criteria and handbook guidelines. Ensure that the beginning Individualized Professional Growth Plan (IPGP) is clearly presented, complete, and represents a workable plan. Sign the signature sheet and send the beginning plan to the superintendent of schools for submission to the Bureau of Credentialing. Be willing to revise the plan with the alternative mentor if returned by the superintendent of schools in a timely manner. Ensure the activities that were developed and designed to complete the plan are followed throughout the year. This may include registering for conferences or courses as stated in the IPGP along with completing a variety of job-embedded activities. Meet with the alternative mentor on a regular monthly basis to review the plan activities and monitor progress of the IPGP. Keep an updated, ongoing record of supporting evidence to be use to complete the plan. Complete an annual review of the plan with the Alternative 4 & 5 mentor and supervisor. Revise the plan if necessary after the annual review and follow through with an addition submission to the SAU. (This step is intended to be avoided with appropriate support and attention to the plan.) Complete any actions or pay any fees that are requested by the NHDOE BOC in a timely fashion. Complete the plan in the designated time frame as outlined by the IPGP and NH DOE handbook. (Filing for extensions is highly discouraged, and extensions of the plan are not guaranteed.) Ensure that the final Individualized Professional Growth Plan (IPGP) is clearly presented, complete with specific supporting documentation, and represents a finished plan. Upon completion of the final plan, sign the signature sheet, and send the final plan to the superintendent of schools for submission to the Bureau of Credentialing.
Alternative Certification Mentor Roles & Responsibilities	Please note that there are no stipends for alternative certification mentors. SAU# 24 will follow the protocols for an alternative certification mentor as stated in the NH DOE Alt 4 & Alt 5 Handbook: The mentor must be a New Hampshire–certified educator who holds a current Experienced Educator Credential (EEC) in the same area that the candidate is pursuing. It is a long-term commitment for the person who agrees to be the mentor. It can be part of an experienced teacher’s Professional Growth plan for recertification. The mentor can be from any school district, public or private in New Hampshire. The responsibilities of the mentor are outlined in the NHDOE Alt 4 & Alt 5 Handbook.

Step-by-Step Guide

Discuss your plans with your administration if you are currently employed at a school.
Obtain a Statement of Eligibility in the area you would like to pursue an endorsement.
Secure employment in your desired endorsement area.
Work with your assigned mentor to review your Competency Assessment sheet and draft your Beginning IPDP Plan (attached in the important papers box) and the required signature page. This should be submitted within 60 days of hire.
Revise plan if needed based on NH DOE guidance.
Receive interim authorization from the NH DOE. This is valid for 3 years.
Mentor and SAU review documentation and submit annual progress report to NH DOE.
Required trainings will be documented: annual bully prevention, annual emergency management, once per three years preventing workplace harassment and any other training required by the school or state.
With guidance from your mentor you will complete the work required to demonstrate competency in each area of the competency assessment.
Complete your end plan documentation.
Submit all required paperwork to the SAU.