American Civil Rights by 
The Civil Rights Movement by 
From Jim Crow to Civil Rights by 
The U.S. Supreme Court by Remember - a bibliography is not a list of URLs. Use Noodle Tools to properly format your citations.
With a Noodle Tools account, once you create bibliographies you can easily organize your research with note cards, outline your papers, and integrate with Google docs.
Users will log in via one of the following:
Find more information on creating a Works Cited page, click on the Research Tools tab above. then click on the Cite Your Sources tab.
Research Paper Assignment
Develop a claim based on answers to a question in a theme area. You should research material from at least five sources from three different types of sources. Types of sources include: anchor text (textbook), other secondary sources, primary sources, nonverbal sources, films or video. You will report the results of your research in the form of a research paper that includes proper citations and a properly formatted works cited page.
Themes:
Role of government -- The Courts, Presidents, Political Parties, Congress
Which Supreme Court cases had the most influence on the Civil Rights movement?
How did African Americans effectively gain voting rights during the 1960s?
Who was responsible for the Civil Rights Act of 1964 and how did this act influence America?
Which government decision had the greatest impact on the success of the Civil Rights movement and why? (Civil Rights Act of 1964, 24th Amendment, Voting Rights Act of 1965)
Was government intervention during the Civil Rights movement a success or failure?
Which US President had the greatest impact on the success of the Civil Rights movement? (Truman, Eisenhower, Kennedy, Johnson, Nixon)
Which government (national, state, local) action hurt the Civil Rights movement the most?
Role of the individual
Which leader or organization presented the best course of action for the movement? (Dubois, Booker T. Washington, M. Garvey, Malcolm X & Nation of Islam, ML King & SCLC, SNCC, CORE, Black Panther)
How did the contributions of a single individual impact the movement as whole?
How did the contributions of Civil Rights leaders mirror the contributions of earlier figures?
How did protesting become a means of achieving change?
What was the most effective means of resistance?
How did a person change America? (MLK jr etc) - Legally, socially, politically, and personally
What was the impact of sports figures and entertainers on the Civil Rights movement? (Jackie Robinson, Muhammad Ali, Olympic Athletes at Mexico City 1968, Sammy Davis Jr., Bill Russell)
Impact of a set events on effective change for African Americans.
How did African American experiences during war influence the Civil Rights movement?
How did the Civil Rights movement impact race relations in the military?
How did military changes impact the Civil Rights movement?
Role of violence and intimidation on the Civil Rights movement?
Impediments/Barriers to effective change
Did the ideas of Malcolm X and the Black Power Movement help or hurt the success of the Civil Rights movement?
Did M.L. King’s opposition to the Vietnam War hurt the Civil Rights movement?
What is the unfinished business of the Civil Rights movement and how can this business be addressed or achieved today?
Does modern America illustrate the successes or failures of the Civil Rights movement?
Is there a way for America to make up for the injustices done to African Americans?
Civil Rights
Compare/contrast Booker T. Washington & W.E. B DuBois
Buffalo Soldiers
Harlem Renaissance
Malcolm X
Plessy v. Ferguson
African Americans in WW I or WW II
Brown v. Topeka
Montgomery Bus Boycott
Freedom Rides
Role of SCLC
Role of Martin L. King, Jr.
Steps:
Preliminary research using EasyBib
Preliminary claim--Conference w/teachers
Notes
Outline--Conference w/teachers
Draft--by Feb. 10/Friday
Gale US History in Context
Extensive resources on this period in history including videos, primary sources, reference materials, and news.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Large collection of full text reference books including primary and secondary sources on the time period and on legal decisions.
Gale Biography in Context
Biographical information on important people from this movement.
Tutorial on the notes and highlighting features in Gale products.
Encyclopedia Britannica
General information provides a great overview of the people, actions, and influences of this time period.
Encyclopedia Britannica Original Sources
Find narrative and primary sources relating to the Civil Rights movement here.
EBSCO
General research database which includes biography, primary sources, encyclopedia entries, magazine and newspapers.
EN 3.1: I can cite text evidence from multiple sources and genres to support analysis.
EN 1.3: I can select and use high quality evidence to write arguments which examine and convey complex ideas, concepts, and information clearly and accurately.
SS 6.2: I can analyze the issues and governmental decisions which impacted the Civil Rights Movement.
